Subject to change

Week 1

Lecture 1: Introduction

Tuesday, August 21

What is visualization? Why is it important? Who are we? Course overview.

Recommended reading

Lecture 2: Perception, Cognition, Color

Thursday, August 23

Mandatory reading

  • VAD, Chapters 10.2-10.3, Color Theory and Colormaps

Recommended reading

Week 2

Lecture 3: Version Control; HTML and SVG.

Tuesday, August 28

Introduction to git. HTML, CSS and the DOM. Selectors, etc.

Lecture 4: Data Abstraction, Data Types.

Thursday, August 30

Mandatory reading

  • VAD, Chapter 2, Data Abstraction

Recommended reading

Week 3

Lecture 5: JavaScript Basics

Tuesday, September 4

An Introduction to JavaScript and D3.

Mandatory reading

  • D3 Book, Chapter 3, go over JavaScript parts.

Recommended reading

Lecture 6: The Visualization Alphabet: Marks and Channels.

Thursday, September 6

Mandatory reading

Recommended reading

Week 4

Lecture 7: DOM Manipulation, D3

Tuesday, September 11

Manipulating the DOM with the standard API, D3 Selections, Data Binding, Scales, Axes

Mandatory reading

  • D3 book, Chapters 4, 5 and 6

Recommended reading

Lecture 8: Design Guidelines, Tasks

Thursday, September 13

Mandatory reading

  • VAD, Chapters 6.3-6.6, and 6.9, Rules of Thumb
  • VAD, Chapter 6.10, Function First, Form Next
  • VAD, Chapter 3, Why: Task Abstraction

Recommended reading

Week 5

Lecture 9: D3 Maps

Tuesday, September 18

GeoJSON, TopoJSON, Choropleth Maps, Proportional Symbol Maps, Google Maps

Mandatory reading

  • D3 book, Chapters 11 and 12

Recommended reading

Lecture 10: Interaction

Thursday, September 20

Mandatory reading

Week 6

Lecture 11: D3 Layouts

Tuesday, September 25

Pie charts, tree maps, node-link diagrams, matrices, etc.

Mandatory reading

  • D3 book, Chapters 7, 8, 9 and 10

Recommended reading

Lecture 12: Views; Focus and Context

Thursday, September 27

Mandatory reading

  • VDA Chapter 12, Facet into Multiple Views
  • VDA Chapter 14, Embed: Focus + Context

Week 7

Lecture 13: Visualizing Tabular Data (Two Parts)

Tuesday, October 2

Mandatory reading

  • VDA Chapter 7, Tables
Exam: Fundamentals. Thursday, October 5

Week 8

Fall Break

Week 9

Lecture 13: Visualizing Tabular Data (Two Parts)

Tuesday, October 16

Mandatory reading

  • VDA Chapter 7, Tables

Lecture 14: Maps

Thursday, October 18

Week 10

VIS Conference, Staff traveling. Schedule TBD

Lecture 15: Topic to be announced.

Tuesday, October 23

Lecture 16: Topic to be announced.

Thursday, October 25

Week 11

Lecture 17: Topic to be announced.

Tuesday, October 30

Lecture 18: Project Peer Feedback in Groups

Thursday, November 1

Week 12

Lecture 19: Visualizing Graphs and Trees (Two Parts)

Tuesday, November 6

Lecture 20: Visualizing Graphs and Trees (Two Parts)

Thursday, November 8

Week 13

Project Feedback with Instructors

Mo, Nov. 14 - Fr, Nov. 18

You will schedule a 20-minute time-slot with one of the instructors to receive feedback on your project.

Lecture 21: Filtering & Aggregation

Tuesday, November 13

Mandatory reading

  • VDA Ch. 13 Reduce Items and Attributes

Week 14

Thursday: Thanksgiving Break

Week 15

Lecture 25: Designing and Evaluating Visualizations, Tasks

Thursday, November 29

Mandatory reading

Recommended reading

Week 16

Lecture 26: Best Project Presentations, Wrap-Up

Tuesday, December 4

Exam 2. Thursday, December 6